Global Security Watch > PSA: Dreamcast.com turned into phishing scam
![]()
[Digg] Japanese news site Mainichi has confirmed that dreamcast.com is no longer owned by Sega and is using the official Dreamcast and company logos illegally. As we wait for further information, please do not submit any personal information to dreamcast.com.
Some related posts from Technorati and Google.
![]()
[Joystiq] Dreamcast.com converted into phishing scam, Sega warns: Oh dear. While we have yet to obtain an English language statement from Sega, Japanese news site Mainichi has confirmed that the site is no longer owned by Sega and is using the official Dreamcast and .
[Gaming Today] Beware: Dreamcast.com “Update” Actually a Scam: As it turns out, I lucked out - Japanese site Mainichi has confirmed that Sega no longer owns the Dreamcast.com domain, and the Dreamcast and Sega logos are being illegally used on the site. The website, we thought, was offering a free .
![]()
[exophase.com, the Gamer's Phase] Dreamcast.com Is Phishing Scam: This past weekend, the Dreamcast.com site relaunched, inviting all owners of the now-defunct console to enter in their DC serial number along with other personal details to get a @user.dreamcast.com email account. Some assumed that the site was launched in preparation for the console’s 10th anniversary.
![]()
[Kotaku Australia] Sega Didn't Ask About Your Dreamcast, Some Dirty Rotten Scoundrel Did: At best, its just a fan site collecting Dreamcast serial numbers for an exhaustive database, but at worst it may be a phishing scam built on the foundation of nostalgia for September 9, 1999. While you may already be on the receiving .
[videogaming247] Dreamcast.com confirmed as phishing scam - Sega taking action: According to this the whole ten year anniversary Dreamcast celebration that we reported three days ago definitely is a scam. The news comes from Japanese site Mainichi, who has seemingly confirmed that Sega really doesnt own the .
![]()
[DailyGamesNews.com] Dreamcast.com is a Phishing Site: Sega has urged everyone to not register at Dreamcast.com and is pressing legal action against the owners of the site. While this is great, it would have been better if Sega had come forward even sooner, seeing as many people will probably be seeing scams and spam in their inbox for quite some time.
![]()
[Disorganized Chaos] Dreamcast Mystery: Their official dreamcast site is asking if anyone owns a dreamcast. Users are asked to register their dreamcast serial number, at which point they get an email account with the serial number (this service is unavailable at this time, due to high volume of account requests).
![]()
[My Quiet Corner] Dreamcast.com Scams: I remember writing on phishing once before and while you see less of these scams nowadays, do keep in mind that they are still out there. If you receive any email from major banks, ebay, paypal or even yahoo / hotmail asking you to verify personal information like passwords, credit card account numbers, etc., with an accompanying link in the email, do remember that these companies will never ask for your personal information through email OR phone.
Reflected tags on Technorati: Blog, Sophos: Blogs, Photos, Videos And More On Technorati, Scams: Blogs, Photos, Videos And More On Technorati, Scams: Blogs, Photos, Videos And More On Technorati, Paypal: Blogs, Photos, Videos And More On Technorati, Fraude: Blogs, Photos, Videos And More On Technorati, Global Security Watch